Connect with us


Dale Steyn picks Babar Azam as top run-scorer in World Cup 2023



As anticipation builds for the upcoming 2023 ODI World Cup, cricket experts worldwide are joining forces in discussions to predict the tournament’s top run-scorer. 

The tournament is scheduled to kick off on 5th October with a match between defending champions England and New Zealand. 

Pakistan will begin their campaign against the Netherlands on 6th October in Hyderabad.


In a video released by Star Sports, cricket pundits and experts were asked to identify the batter they believe will score the most runs in this year’s World Cup. 

Many renowned cricketers singled out “Shubman Gill” as the leading run-scorer in the upcoming tournament. 

Interestingly, there was a single cricket legend who predicted that the Pakistan skipper would be the top run-getter in the event.

Former South African pacer, Dale Steyn, diverged from this consensus and named Pakistan skipper, Babar Azam, as the tournament’s highest run-scorer.

“Leading run-scorer is probably gonna be somebody like Babar,” he said.



Who will write history with his bat in the #CWC23? Our experts pick! 😍
Prince @ShubmanGill is one of the most chosen! Who would you choose?#WorldCupOnStar #Cricket

— Star Sports (@StarSportsIndia) October 2, 2023

However, former Pakistan pacer, Waqar Younis, broke once again from the consensus and chose not to name a Pakistan batter for this honor. Instead, he predicted that Shubman Gill would secure the top run-scorer spot in this year’s mega-event edition.

It is worth noting that during the 2019 World Cup, the 28-year-old managed to accumulate 474 runs in eight matches, with an average of 67.71, coupled with a strike rate of 87.77, which included three fifties and a century, notably against New Zealand.


Continue Reading
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


PCB reveals schedule of National T20 Super 8




The schedule for the National T20 Super 8 has been revealed by the Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) following the advancement of the top two teams from each group to the Super Eight stage. This stage is set to take place in a round-robin format spanning from December 1 to December 8. 


🚨 Schedule of the @AHGroup_Pk Presents Jazz Super 4G National T20 Cup 2023-24 Super 8 🗓️

Which team are you backing to win the tournament❓#NationalT20 | #AajaMaidanMein


— Pakistan Cricket (@TheRealPCB) November 30, 2023

Following the Super Eight stage, the top four teams will qualify for the semi-finals. Both semi-finals are scheduled to be played on 9 December at National Bank Stadium, at 1500 PKT and 2000 PKT respectively.

The final is scheduled to be played at the same venue on 10 December. The toss will take place at 1930 PKT and the first ball will be bowled at 2000 PKT.

The winning team of the tournament will pocket a prize money of PKR 5 million. 
Meanwhile, the tournament runners-up will be awarded PKR 2.5 million. The player of the tournament will be rewarded with PKR 250,000. The same amount has been allotted to three other awards; best batter, best bowler and best wicket-keeper of the tournament. The player of the final will receive PKR 50,000 while player of the match in each of the 
Super Eight games and the semi-finals will be given PKR 25,000.

This is the first edition of the tournament played since the PCB 2014 Constitution was reinstated. The previous edition of National T20, which featured six sides, was won by Sindh who clinched their maiden title after defeating defending champions Khyber Pakhtunkhwa by eight wickets. Khyber Pakhtunkhwa lost out on securing a hat-trick of titles after winning both the 2020-21 and 2021-22 editions.